Women’s squads confirmed for ICC World Twenty20

All eight women’s squads for the ICC Women’s World Twenty20 Sri Lanka 2012 have now been confirmed with the very best players in the world all getting ready for the big event, which gets underway in Sri Lanka next month.

The group stages of the women’s element of the tournament will take place in Galle with the semi-finals and final being stage in Colombo. The knock-out matches will all feature as double-headers with the men’s equivalents just as they did in the West Indies two years ago.

Jodie Fields will lead defending champion Australia and will want to lift the trophy again after her side won the 2010 tournament with current vice-captain Alex Blackwell at the helm.

Helping Fields in her endeavour to secure her first ICC global title will be a number of players who were part of the victorious 2010 side, including Blackwell, as well as Jess Cameron, Rachael Haynes, Julie Hunter, Alyssa Healy, Erin Osborne, Ellyse Perry, Lisa Sthalekar and Leah Poulton. The side is, however, without an experienced Shelley Nitschke who retired from international cricket in 2011.

There is room, however, for youngsters such as Jess Jonassen (19), Meg Lanning (20) and Sarah Coyte (23) as Australia continue to pick squads with one eye on the future.

Twice beaten finalist, New Zealand, who lost out to England in 2009 and Australia in 2010,  will be captained by Suzie Bates who took over the side last year in June after the retirement of  Aimee Watkins. She will be supported by the ICC Women’s World Twenty20 2010 Player of the Tournament, Nicola Browne, as well as Sophie Devine, Lucy Doolan, Sara McGlashan and Sian Ruck.

Sri Lanka will be led by Shashikala Siriwardena while wicketkeeper-batter Dilani Manodara will be one of the players to watch out for alongside veteran Chamani Seneviratna and Inoka Galagedara.

West Indies will also be one of the main contenders, having made it to the semi-final last time round. The side includes ICC Women’s Cricketer of the Year 2011 Stafanie Taylor and also features strong batters in Deandra Dottin, Juliana Nero and all-rounder Shanel Daley, while the bowling line-up includes in-form off-spinner Anisa Mohammed.

Mithali Raj will captain India in a familiar-looking side that contains experienced players in Jhulan Goswami and Sulakshana Naik.

The action gets underway in Galle on 26 September with the semi-finals and the final taking place at R. Premadasa Stadium in Colombo on 4, 5 and 7 October.

For more information about the ICC World Twenty20 2012 visit www.icc-cricket.com.

New Zealand: Suzie Bates (captain), Erin Bermingham, Kate Broadmore, Nicola Browne, Sophie Devine, Lucy Doolan, Sara McGlashan, France Mackay, Katey Martin, Morna Nielsen, Katie Perkins, Liz Perry, Sian Ruck, Amy Satterthwaite.

With Thanks To

ANZ Ford
Tui Active Post HRV Specsavers CCC Powerade
Sky Pitch Radio Network TAB Gillette Accor Hotels City Fitness