White Ferns name preliminary squad for ICC World Twenty20

New Zealand Cricket today announced a 28 player preliminary squad for the ICC Women’s World Twenty20 to be staged in Sri Lanka in September and October 2012.

Suzie Bates (c) – Otago Sparks
Victoria Abbott – Otago Sparks
Erin Bermingham – Canterbury Magicians
Janet Brehaut – Canterbury Magicians
Kate Broadmore – Central Hinds
Nicola Browne – Northern Spirit
Rachel Candy – Canterbury Magicians
Sophie Devine – Wellington Blaze
Natalie Dodd – Northern Spirit
Lucy Doolan – Wellington Blaze
Maddy Green – Auckland Hearts
Georgia Guy – Auckland Hearts
Melinda Hodgson – Wellington Blaze
Holly Huddleston – Auckland Hearts
Meg Kendal – Canterbury Magicians
Brooke Kirkbride – Northern Spirit
Felicity Leydon-Davis – Northern Spirit
Frances Mackay – Canterbury Magicians
Sara McGlashan – Central Hinds
Katey Martin – Otago Sparks
Morna Nielsen – Northern Spirit
Katie Perkins – Auckland Hearts
Liz Perry – Wellington Blaze
Anna Peterson – Northern Spirit
Rachel Priest – Central Hinds
Sian Ruck – Wellington Blaze
Amy Satterthwaite – Canterbury Magicians
Lea Tahuhu – Canterbury Magicians

National Selection Manager, Kim Littlejohn said: “The players who have made the preliminary squad are the best players available and deserve their inclusion.”
"The group includes a lot of up and coming talent, as well as a number of experienced international players.  

“The likes of Brooke Kirkbride, Felicity Leydon-Davis and Georgia Guy are all under 20 years old and are likely to have a big impact in the future.

“The return of Nicola Browne and Sophie Devine who both have experience on the big stage will also be of big benefit to the team.

“We believe this group has the right balance to make a strong bid for the World Twenty20 in Sri Lanka.”

The squad is to be reduced to 14 players by August 25.

With Thanks To

ANZ Ford
Tui Active Post HRV Specsavers CCC Powerade
Sky Pitch Radio Network TAB Gillette Accor Hotels City Fitness