White Ferns announce World Twenty20 squad

New Zealand Cricket (NZC) has today named the White Ferns squad for the upcoming ICC Women’s World Twenty20 Tournament in Sri Lanka.

Suzie Bates (c): Otago Sparks
Amy Satterthwaite: Canterbury Magicians
Erin Bermingham: Canterbury Magicians
Frances Mackay: Canterbury Magicians
Kate Broadmore: Central Hinds
Katey Martin: Otago Sparks
Katie Perkins: Auckland Hearts
Liz Perry: Wellington Blaze
Lucy Doolan: Wellington Blaze
Morna Nielsen: Northern Spirit
Nicola Browne: Northern Spirit
Sara McGlashan: Central Hinds
Sian Ruck: Wellington Blaze
Sophie Devine: Wellington Blaze

National Selection Manager, Kim Littlejohn said: “We have selected an experienced squad and are excited by what we think this group of players can achieve.

“We are pleased to have Nicola Browne back.  She was the player of the tournament in the last ICC World Twenty20 and offers the group a great deal of experience and leadership.

“Sophie Devine also returns to the side having made a fast return to cricket from her time with NZ Hockey. She is a quality all-rounder and we expect she will play a key role in Sri Lanka.”

White Ferns Coach, Gary Stead said: "We're impressed with the preparations undertaken by the players during what has been a lengthy break from playing cricket outdoors.

“The recent warm-up series in Sri Lanka was invaluable and we believe this is the squad that will make the best use of the conditions we will come across.

“While some difficult decisions have been made, we are very excited by this group and in particular the return of experienced players.”

The White Ferns are in Group B for the tournament alongside West Indies, South Africa and Sri Lanka. They play their first match against West Indies September 26th.

With Thanks To

ANZ Ford
Tui Active Post HRV Specsavers CCC Powerade
Sky Pitch Radio Network TAB Gillette Accor Hotels City Fitness