Morrison takes Player of the Year award for Sparks

Tanya Morrison was the big winner for the Sparks at Otago's 2011-12 cricket awards, taking out the Cricketer of the Year title. 

Morrison was rewarded for an extremely consistent season, playing all 15 games for the Sparks without having a bad game. The trade mark of her performances was exceptional economy rates of just 2.64 in the Action Cricket Cup and 4.66 in the Action Twenty20. Morrison who is retiring was later recognised with a special award for her service to the Otago Sparks.

Neil Wagner claimed the corresponding men's prize. Wagner was rewarded for a season which saw him take 46 Plunket Shield wickets at an average of 26.32 with best bowling of 7-46. Wagner was the leading wicket taker in the Plunket Shield an impressive 9 wickets clear of second place. In an impressive four seasons with the Volt’s Wagner has taken 149 four day wickets. In the 2011-12 season he backed up his dominant display in white clothing with 10 Ford Trophy and 5 HRV Cup wickets.

The awards were followed by a special function to celebrate the cricket career of the retiring Craig Cumming. Tributes were paid to Cumming by former Otago player Rob Lawson, current Otago Volts and BLACKCAPS all- rounder Nathan McCullum, former Otago coach Mike Hesson and current CEO Ross Dykes.
Award Winners

Special Awards
Coach of the Year – Steve Brown
Outstanding Individual Performance – Hamish Rutherford (239 vs Wellington)
Contribution to Cricket – Russell Hendry

Otago Sparks Awards
Batsman of the Year – Katey Martin
Bowler of the Year – Tanya Morrison
Fielder of the Year – Katey Martin
Rising Star – Victoria Abbott
Cricketer of the Year – Tanya Morrison

Otago Volts Awards
Fielder of the year – Derek de Boorder
Rising Star – Hamish Rutherford
Fastest Fifty – Nathan McCullum
Bowler of the Year –Neil Wagner
Batsman of the Year – Craig Cumming
Cricketer of the Year – Neil Wagner

Otago Age Group Awards
Under 15 Girls
Outstanding Performer – Rose Johnston

Under 21 Women
Batsman of the Year – Caitlin Blakely
Bowler of the Year- Ashleigh White

Under 16 Boys
Batsman of the Year – Josh Finnie
Bowler of the Year – Bailey Andrews
Outstanding Performer – Josh Finnie

Under 18 Boys
Batsman of the Year – Gregor Croudis
Bowler of the Year – Jack Hunter

Otago A
Batsman of the Year – Hamish Rutherford
Bowler of the Year – Jacob Duffy

District Awards
Under 15 Schoolgirls – Otago Country
Secondary Schoolgirls – Dunedin
South Island Primary – Dunedin (Joint Winners)
Under 16 Boys – Otago Country
Under 18 Boys – Abandoned
District Shield – Southland
Stewart McKnight Cup – Dunedin
Mark Parker Memorial – Dunedin
Otago National Club Championships - Taieri

With Thanks To

ANZ Ford
Tui Active Post HRV Specsavers CCC Powerade
Sky Pitch Radio Network TAB Gillette Accor Hotels City Fitness