Auckland crowned National Under 21 Women’s champions

Auckland emerged as comfortable winners of the national under 21 women’s after beating Wellington by 19 runs in the final match of the seven day tournament.

Auckland won three of their four 50-over matches and won all three Twenty20 fixtures to finish the competition with 24 points.

Northern Districts completed a narrow two run Twenty20 win over bottom placed Otago to leap into second place to finish on 19 points while Wellington, who were the only side to upset winners Auckland, rounded out the top three with 17.

Central Districts managed a seven wicket win over Canterbury leaving both sides with 17 points.

Felicity Leydon-Davis from Northern Districts was rewarded for consistent batting and bowling performances being named player of the tournament. Leydon-Davis picked up the Trish McKelvey Trophy, named after former New Zealand captain, after coaches allocated between 1-3 points at the end of each match.

Tournament statistics:

Final points:
Auckland – 24
Northern Districts – 19
Wellington – 17
Canterbury – 12
Central Districts – 12
Otago – 0

With Thanks To

ANZ Ford
Tui Active Post HRV Specsavers CCC Powerade
Sky Pitch Radio Network TAB Gillette Accor Hotels City Fitness