Wilkinson Premier Twenty20 Final takes place this Sunday

Karori Park will play host to the Wilkinson Premier Grade Twenty20 Final between HRV Karori and Taita Petone Radiators this Sunday.

Karori have had a strangle hold on the Twenty20 competition since its inception back in 2005.  The defending champions will be looking to add to their six titles and approach the final undefeated so far this season.  They have named a sound squad for the final with a number returning from last season.  Batsmen Tom Blundell will be a key player to Karori’s success.  Blundell scored a century in the early rounds of the Twenty20 competition and his good season resulted in a First Class debut for the Wellington Firebirds against Auckland recently.

Taita make the final on the back of winning the Hutt Valley section.  This will be the first final Taita have contested in and they will field a strong side that contains a number of match winners.  One of those is Wellington Firebird Mark Houghton who will be looking to continue his good run of form following a strong HRV Cup campaign.

The day will also be used as an opportunity to raise funds for the Angus Little Brain Tumour Fundraising Appeal.  Little, the son of Taita coach David, was diagnosed with a brainstem tumour that is inoperable due to its location at the base of the brain.  The family are fundraising to try and get Angus overseas for clinical trials to give Angus the chance at life that all kids deserve.  There will be collections buckets at the ground for those who would like to donate towards Angus’s Appeal.

The game starts at 1pm.

HRV Karori v Taita Petone Radiators
Karori Park
Sunday 24 February

Taita Petone Radiators
Mark Houghton (c)
Dave Houghton
Patrick Houghton
Sam Dean
Sam Le Gros
Sam McGavin
Henry Walsh
Nik Swain
Andrew Sturt
Hamish Blomfield
Philip Tunnicliffe
Chris Tait
Liam Sullivan
Kieran McComb
Tyler Johannson

HRV Karori
Hamish Templeton (c)
Matt Atkin
Simon Baker
Tom Blundell
Lee Edwards
Misty Jones-Middleton
Liam Norwell
Fraser Quarterman
Jarred Sewell
Chris Spring
Harry Wright
Harry Boam
Stephen Murdoch
Tom Donaldson
Fletcher Te Aika

Campbell Barry
Robert Dossett

Previous Winners
2005/06 Karori
2006/07 Karori
2007/08 Karori
2008/09 Karori
2009/10 Naenae Old Boys and Onslow
2010/11 Karori
2011/12 Karori

With Thanks To

ANZ Ford
Tui Active Post HRV Specsavers CCC Powerade
Sky Pitch Radio Network TAB Gillette Accor Hotels City Fitness