Wilkinson Ewen Chatfield Cup One Day Final

The Wilkinson Ewen Chatfield Cup One Day Final takes place this Sunday with El Cheapo Cars Eastern Suburbs hosting HRV Karori at Kilbirnie Park. 

In a repeat of last season’s Final, both teams will be looking to win their third title and represent Wellington at the National Club Championships in Auckland in April. 

El Cheapo Cars Eastern Suburbs enter the final on the back of a superb one-day season losing just one game during their campaign.  That loss however was against Karori in the final round where they fell just short scoring 302 chasing 310.  They will field an experienced team who’ve tasted plenty of Finals experience in the past.  One player to watch out for will be Ben Orton who is having a stellar season that saw him earn selection into the Firebirds HRV Cup team for the latter part of the competition. 

Karori have had a mixed season to date having won six of their nine games played.  Having started the season well, Karori suffered three consecutive losses before getting up against East’s in the final round to secure a Finals spot.  However, Sunday will be Karori’s fourth consecutive one-day final and they too will field an experienced team with a number of players involved in their last triumph two seasons ago.  A key player for Karori will be Fraser Quarterman who is fresh from taking a 5 wicket bag for Wellington City in the recent Dempster Shield fixture against Hutt Valley.

The game is scheduled to start at 11am with a presentation of the cup taking place at the conclusion of the match.

El Cheapo Cars Eastern Suburbs v HRV Karori
Kilbirnie Park

El Cheapo Cars Eastern Suburbs
Lance Dry (captain)
Ankur Bassi
Jeremy Dean
Andrew Fullerton-Smith
Chamika Gajanayaka
Jamie Gibson
Ricky Joseph
Ronald Karaitiana
Seb Logan
Sam McLauchlan
Niranjan Naguleswaran
Mario Stols

HRV Karori
Hamish Templeton (c)
Andy McKay
Chris Spring
Fletch Te Aika
Fraser Quarterman
Harry Boam
Harry Wright
Jarred Sewell
Lee Edwards
Liam Norwell
Luke Scully
Matt Atkin
Misty Jones-Middleton
Simon Baker
Steve Murdoch
Tom Blundell
Tom Donaldson

Previous Winners
2002-03  Upper Valley
2003-04  Upper Valley
2004-05  North City
2005-06  Eastern Suburbs
2006-07  Naenae Old Boys
2007-08  Naenae Old Boys
2008-09  Hutt District
2009-10  Karori
2010-11  Karori
2011-12  Eastern Suburbs

With Thanks To

ANZ Ford
Tui Active Post HRV Specsavers CCC Powerade
Sky Pitch Radio Network TAB Gillette Accor Hotels City Fitness