Wellington Blaze in Twenty20 Final on Saturday

The Wellington Blaze play the Canterbury Magicians in the Final of the domestic women’s Twenty20 competition at MainPower Oval in Rangiora on Saturday.

In a repeat of the 2008-09 domestic women’s Twenty20 final between these two teams, the Wellington Blaze are out to win their first title since then against the Magicians side who were the top qualifiers from the round-robin.

The Magicians have won all their five Twenty20 games heading into this Final, while the Wellington Blaze have won three from five. Their match in early December was tightly contested and decided on Duckworth Lewis calculations, Canterbury prevailing in a rain shortened game that was reduced to 15 overs and then six overs when the rain returned.

Both sides will be hoping for clear skies in this final, which is also the curtain-raiser to the men’s HRV Cup match between the Canterbury Wizards and the Auckland Aces.

Wellington could be boosted by the return of captain Sophie Devine, returning from injury after missing the last two rounds before Christmas.

The Wellington Blaze team for the Twenty20 final is (subject to Devine passing a fitness test):

Sophie Devine
Lucy Doolan
Deanna Doughty
Lauren Ebsary
Allex Evans
Leigh Kasperek
Gemma Krebs
Suzie McDonald
Renee Moffitt
Thamsyn Newton
Sian Ruck
Andrea Stockwell

Devine, Sian Ruck and Lucy Doolan, have all been selected in the 15-player squad for the ICC Women’s World Cup in India in February. Canterbury’s players in this squad are Rachel Candy, Frances Mackay, Amy Satterthwaite and Lee Tahuhu.

Match Information:

What: Domestic women’s Twenty20 Final: Wellington Blaze v Canterbury Magicians
Where: MainPower Oval, Rangiora
When: Saturday 12 January, 11.00am. Live scoring on this website.

With Thanks To

ANZ Ford
Tui Active Post HRV Specsavers CCC Powerade
Sky Pitch Radio Network TAB Gillette Accor Hotels City Fitness