BLACKCAPS squad named for Twenty20 matches against India

New Zealand Cricket has announced a squad of 13 for the two Twenty20 Internationals against India, in Christchurch on Wednesday [25 February] and Wellington on Friday [27 February]. The squad is:

Daniel Vettori (Captain)
Neil Broom
Ian Butler
Grant Elliott
Martin Guptill
Brendon McCullum
Nathan McCullum
Iain O’Brien
Jacob Oram
Jesse Ryder
Tim Southee
Ross Taylor
Ewen Thompson

Ryder and Oram return to the BLACKCAPS after layoffs through injury, although Oram will play as a batsman only. Ross Taylor, who injured his hamstring in last week’s Twenty20 game against Australia, has also been confirmed as fit to play.

Bowler Ewen Thompson returns to the squad after making his BLACKCAPS debut in the Twenty20 against the West Indies in December.  Glenn Turner, head of the selection panel, said Thompson – currently second in the State MVP bowling rankings – had shown continuing good domestic form for the State Central Stags, including a four-wicket bag against the State Northern Knights. “Ewen comes in for Kyle Mills who is still recovering from injury to his Achilles tendon,” said Turner.  “He will give the side additional strength as a specialist new ball and swing bowler.”

With Thanks To

ANZ Ford
Tui Active Post HRV Specsavers CCC Powerade
Sky Pitch Radio Network TAB Gillette Accor Hotels City Fitness