NZCT Junior Boys' Finals day four

Otago take title in final

Otago Boys’ High School have finished victors of the New Zealand Community Trust Junior Boys’ Final, beating Hutt International Boys’ School by seven runs. It was a tight final, with Otago’s bowling line-up just managing to hold the Hutt batsmen.

St Paul’s Collegiate claimed third, with a convincing triumph over last year’s champions, Christchurch Boys’ High School.

St Kentigern College won their final match against New Plymouth Boys’ High School for fifth, while St Peter’s School beat Hastings Boys’ High School to claim seventh in the tournament.

Chris Swanson of St Pauls was named the Mizuno Batsmen of the Tournament, while Taine Bayly of Otago Boys was named Mizuno Bowler of the Tournament.

Otago Boys’ High School v Hutt International Boys’ School

Otago lost an early wicket, but made steady progress with four of the top five batsman all making starts. An excellent partnership between Taine Bayly and Matt Dukes was crucial for the Southerners and helped them get to the competitive total of 149 for nine.

Hutt International’s Caleb Tashkoff kept the Otago batsman honest with a fine spell of bowling, to finish with the figures of three for 29.

Hutt International got off to a horror start in their chase, losing their first two batsmen with seven runs on the board.

A hard fought and gritty partnership between Akansh Patel and Ben Sears of 80 got Hutt International back in the game, but the loss of frequent wickets created a lot of pressure for the lower order batsman.

 Akansh Patel was the last man to be dismissed with 49 after nearly seeing his team over the line.

In the end though Otago’s line and length was too good and they wrapped up the tournament by seven runs.

Otago Boys’ High School 149/9 (40 overs) (T Bayly 38, J Taig 26, C Tashkoff 3/29) BEAT Hutt International Boys’ School 142/8 (40 overs) (A Patel 49, T Bayly 3/20)

Result: Otago Boys’ High School won by seven runs

Christchurch Boys’ High School v St Paul’s Collegiate

St Pauls looked dominant early with an opening stand of 80 between Alastair Blackett and Dillon Kelliher.

The following batsman built on the solid platform and posted the highest total of the day with 198 for three.

Chris Swanson once again top scored for his side with 60 from 61 deliveries.

Christchurch Boys lost their first two wickets early, but recovered well with an 80 run partnership between Will Jordan and Jack Hyde.

Simon Morbey came to the crease and had an instant impact by taking three wickets in one over, leaving the Christchurch team reeling at 120 for six with nine overs remaining.

The lower order tried, but couldn’t manage to gain the momentum back from a fired up St Paul’s attack, eventually losing by 40 runs.

St Paul’s Collegiate 198/3 (Chris Swanson 60*, D Kelliher 25, A Blackett 63) BEAT Christchurch Boys’ High School 158 all out (W Jordan 55, Simon Morbey 4/22)

Result: St Paul’s Collegiate won by 40 runs

New Plymouth Boys’ High School v St Kentigern College          
St Kentigern got off to a solid start, having restricted New Plymouth to three for five after six overs.

Raymond Toole continued his impressive week by taking the first two wickets and then inflicted a blow to one of the New Plymouth batsman, unfortunately causing an early retirement.

New Plymouth Boys never gave up through, as Sam Morrison and Kaylum Bashier rallied to get their team back into the match.

The final score of 162 for the loss of five wickets was an incredible result after such a horror start.

The St Kentigern batting line-up were up to the task though and chased down the set target. Finn McGregor was the best of the St Kent’s batsmen with 47.

New Plymouth Boys’ High School 162/5 (S Morrison 76, K Boshier 42, R Toole 3/27) LOST to St Kentigern College 167/5 (F McGregor 47, J Ellis 25*, R Toole 25, B Northcott Hill 2/50)
Result: St Kentigern College won by five wicket

St Peter’s School v Hastings Boys’ High School

Hasting Boys entered the game looking for their first win, but struggled due to some impressive bowling from the St Peter’s attack. 

The leader of Hasting’s innings was Michael Stirling, who scored an unbeaten 33.

For St Peters, Thomas Anderson picked up the impressive figures of two for 24 from eight overs.

In reply, St Peter’s innings was going to plan, until the loss of their first wicket triggered a mini collapse. At 49 for four things were looking precarious for St Peters. Neil Achary however saved the day, scoring 31 from 48 deliveries and guiding St Peters to their second win of the tournament.

Hastings Boys’ High School 102/6 (40 overs) (M Stirling 33*, T Anderson 2/24) LOST to St Peter’s School 103/6 (N Achary 31, S Field 2/22, M Stirling 2/29)

Result: St Peter’s College won by four wickets

Final standings

1    Otago Boys High School
2    Hutt International Boys School
3    St Pauls Collegiate
4    Christchurch Boys High School
5    St Kentigern College
6    New Plymouth Boys High School
7    St Peters School
8    Hastings Boys High School

Team MVPs

Otago Boys’ High School:                      Blake Buttar Scurr
Hutt International Boys’ School:             Caleb Tashkoff
St Paul’s Collegiate                                Chris Swanson
Christchurch Boys’ High School             Matthew Hay
St Kentigern College:                              Raymond Toole
New Plymouth Boys’ High School:         Kaylum Boshier
St Peter’s School                                    Brandon Weal
Hastings Boys’ High School                    Jarrod McLeod

With Thanks To

ANZ Ford
Tui Active Post HRV Specsavers CCC Powerade
Sky Pitch Radio Network TAB Gillette Accor Hotels City Fitness