New Zealand Junior Boys’ cricket finals

The New Zealand Junior Boys’ Community Trust National Finals will be held at Fitzherbert Park and Manawaroa Park in Palmerston North next week. The year nine and ten tournament will commence its ninth year of competition on March 26th and run through till March 29th. Eight school teams from around the country will meet, each having made it through pool stages which featured a total of 162 schools.

This prestigious development tournament has already been a useful stepping stone for many current domestic players, including Corey Anderson [Christchurch Boys’ High School], George Worker [Palmerston North Boys’ High School], and Harry Boam [Wellington College].

Of last year’s finalists, only defending champions Christchurch Boys High School returns to the 2012 competition and will be joined by New Plymouth Boys’ High School, Hutt International Boys’ School, St Paul’s Collegiate, St Kentigern College, Otago Boys’ High School, St Peter’s School and Hastings Boys’ High School.

For the national finals tournament these eight schools have been divided into two pools of four: The schools play round robin matches against the opponents in their own pool over the first three days of the finals. They are then ranked on their results and on day four play crossover matches to determine the final placings and eventual winner of the 2012 NZCT Cup.

Pool A:
New Plymouth Boys’ High School, Hutt International Boys’ School, Hastings Boys’ High School, Christchurch Boys’ High School

Pool B:
St Paul’s Collegiate, St Kentigern College, St Peter’s School, Otago Boys’ High School

With Thanks To

ANZ Ford
Tui Active Post HRV Specsavers CCC Powerade
Sky Pitch Radio Network TAB Gillette Accor Hotels City Fitness