Day 4: Wellington Girls College win NZCT Cup with comprehensive victory

NZCT Cup National Secondary School Girls’ finals, Owen Delaney Park, Taupo

NZCT Cup Final: Havelock North High School v Wellington Girls College

Havelock North High School 119/8 ( O. Gregory 44, S. Rangenkar 26; J. Ashley-Jones 2/21) lost to Wellington Girls College 121/3 in 36 overs (Rachel Chin 54)

Havelock North High School and Wellington Girls College performed extremely well throughout the tournament and both teams deserved to be in the final. This was going to be a tight tussle and it was played in beautiful conditions at Owen Delany Park’s number one ground in Taupo.

Wellington won the toss and decided to bowl first on a good looking wicket. Havelock North got off to a slow but a solid start, the opening pair puttin on 32 for the first wicket with Sunika Rangnekar being first to go scoring 26. Olivia Gregory batted well in the middle of the innings scoring 44. Havelock North may have thought they would have a chance when they posted a total 119/8 in their allotted 40 overs with their quality bowling attack.

Wellington started well and never really looked troubled, led courageously by their captain and opening batsman, Rachel Chin. Chin played immaculately as she got through the new ball and took the impetus away from Havelock North, Chin eventually fell for 54 but the hard work had been done and Wellington cruised to victory in 36 overs, ending on 121/3.

Wellington were deserved winners of the NZCT Cup, they played consistently well throughout the tournament, the team was captained well by Rachel Chin who really lead from the front, they had a quality bowling line-up and some talented batsmen.  Congratulations must also go to the Wellington coach Glen Ward and the management team who did a great job preparing the team.

Christchurch Girls High School v Westlake Girls High School (3rd and 4th place playoff)

Westlake Girls High School 56 in 30 overs (E. Hartland 5/14, M. Hyde 3/3) lost to Christchurch Girls High School 57/0 in 19 overs (Emma Hartland 23 n.o.)

This match had all the ingredients to be a great clash. Both Christchurch and Westlake had played well throughout the tournament, but in the end Christchurch were too good.  On a good looking wicket Westlake won the toss and elected to bat first. In the previous two games Westlake had racked up 470 runs for the loss of only two wickets, but they were unable to emulate that great form in the this match. Christchurch bowled and fielded extremely well and managed to dismiss Westlake for 56 in 30 overs. The stand-out bowlers for Christchurch were Emma Harland with 5/14 and Mereama Hyde, 2/3.

Christchurch had no difficulty knocking off the target set by Westlake and passed the total without losing a wicket, Emma Hartland finished off a good day scoring 23 not out to go with her five-wicket bag.

New Plymouth Girls High School v Waikato Diocesan School (5th and 6th place playoff)

New Plymouth Girls High School 125 in 38.4 overs (S. McPhee 5/14, J. Chisholm 3/29, G. Tarrant 2/17) beat Waikato Diocesan School 62 in 33 overs(K. Baxter 4/25, B Watson 3/9)

Waikato Diocesan School won the toss and elected to bowl first, putting some pressure on the New Plymouth batsmen. The Waikato bowlers performed well and managed to bowl New Plymouth out within 38.4 overs, although New Plymouth had managed to put a competitive 125 on the board.

The wickets were shared around - Sunita McPhee was the stand out bowler taking 5/14, with Jessica Chisholm 3/29 and Jorja Tarrant taking 2/17. New Plymouth captain Brooke Sim top scored with 29.

The Waikato innings never got going and they were bundled out for 62 in 33 overs with Kate Baxter taking 4/5 and Breanna Watson finishing with 3/9.

Diocesan School for Girls (Auckland )v Blue Mountain College (7th and 8th place playoff)

Blue Mountain College 75 in 37 overs (K. Stiven 48; E. McRae 4/13, S. Adam 3/7, L. Creighton 2/19) lost to Diocesan School for Girls 77/8 in 17 overs (S. Harrison 33 n.o.; A. Miller 5/ 33, K. Stiven 2/31)

Diocesan School for Girls won the toss and elected to bowl first. The Diocesan bowlers put immense pressure on the Blue Mountain College batsmen and at one stage had them reeling at 6 for 18., Blue Mountain captain Kate Stiven, batting at six, played well and managed to score 48 and give her bowlers something to bowl at.

For Diocesan Ellen McRae took 4 for 13, Sarah Adam 3 for 7 and Lucy Creighton 2 for 19 bowled with good reward.

Diocesan didn’t get off to the best start losing four wickets with only 16 runs on the board. But Sam Harrison came to the crease and hit a quick fire 33 not out off 23 balls which took the game away from Blue Mountain. Diocesan had plenty of overs left in the end scoring 77 in 17 overs although losing eight wickets in the process.

This was a deserving win for Diocesan School for Girls who like Blue Mountain College had fought extremely hard throughout the tournament. Both schools had played with a lot of enthusiasm and pride and it was fitting that the game ended with both teams having a chance for victory but Diocesan managed to get through with the win.

Final Standings of the National Secondary School Girls’ Cricket Finals - NZCT Cup

Wellington Girls College - Winners of the NZCT Cup
Havelock North High School
Christchurch Girls High School
Westlake Girls High School
New Plymouth Girls High School
Waikato Diocesan School
Diocesan School for Girls
Blue Mountain College

Player of the Tournament

Sanika Rangnekar- Havelock North High School

NZCT Tournament Team

Kimberley Ter Braak  Westlake Girls High School
Victoria Fuller  Westlake Girls High School
Courtney Manning  Westlake Girls High School
Kate Stiven   Blue Mountain College
Sarah Adam  Diocesan School for Girls
Brooke Sim   New Plymouth Girls High School
Rachel Chin   Wellington Girls College
Holly Grover   Wellington Girls College
Sanika Rangnekar  Havelock North High School
Kate Hensman  Havelock North High School
Camille Hughes  Christchurch Girls High School
Sunita McPhee  Waikato Diocesan School

With Thanks To

ANZ Ford
Tui Active Post HRV Specsavers CCC Powerade
Sky Pitch Radio Network TAB Gillette Accor Hotels City Fitness