Day 3: National Secondary School Girls’ short scorecards and match reports

Wellington and Havelock North through to girls’ national final

Wellington Girls College and Havelock North Girls High School will meet in the final of the NZCT Cup National Secondary School Girls’ cricket final tomorrow, after both earned comprehensive wins on day three of the tournament in Taupo.

Westlake Girls High School will play Christchurch Girls High School in the third and fourth place play-offs, while after six titles in a row, defending champions New Plymouth Girls High School  find themselves in the unfamiliar position of playing off for fifth and sixth, against Waikato Diocesan. Auckland Diocesan will play Blue Mountain College for seventh and eighth places.

Day 3 results:

Wellington Girls College v New Plymouth Girls High School

New Plymouth Girls High School 84 (M. Heal 25; H. Grover 3/16, K. Edwards 2/4, P. Roy 2/22) lost to Wellington Girls College 85/5(R. Chin 30 n.o., W. Cherteris 27)

Wellington Girls College, who were leading Pool A after two rounds, won the toss and elected to bowl first on a wicket that had a little bit of moisture in it.

Wellington bowled extremely well to bowl New Plymouth GHS out 84 in 29.2 overs. The pick of the bowlers were opening bowler Penny Roy, 2/22, and the two off spin bowlers Holly Grover, 3/16, and Kayla Edwards, 2/4.

Wellington successfully chased down the target of 85 in 37.2 overs with five wickets remaining. The innings was spearheaded by opening batsman Rachel Chin who carried her bat through the innings to end up on 30 not out, assisted by Whetu Cherteris who made 27.

New Plymouth’s best bowler was Breanna Watson who finished with figures of 3 for 20.

Wellington won this match by five wickets and will go on to meet Havelock North Girls High School who were the winners of Pool B, in tomorrow’s final.

Westlake Girls’ High School v Waikato Diocesan

Westlake Girls’ High School 216/1 (Courtney Manning 115 n.o., Kimberley Ter Braak 51 n.o.; J. Souchon 1/32) beat
Waikato Diocesan 44(A. Laurie 4/4, C. Manning 2/8, E. Crombie 2/12)

Waikato Diocesan won the toss and elected to field first.  Westlake again showed their class with the bat by pilling on another total over 200, and losing only one wicket in doing so. For the second time in two days Westlake opening batsman Kimberley Ter Braak carried her bat through the innings to score an unbeaten 51.

The highlight of the innings was the second 100 to be scored by a Westlake Girls High School batsman in the tournament, this time by captain Courtney Manning who finished on 115 not out. Manning batted with great maturity and control as she made her way to 100 and in the process Manning and Kimberley Ter Braak shared an unbroken partnership of 213 runs.

Westlake made it hard for Waikato Diocesan, bowling them out for 44 in 31 overs. The wicket takers were Alex Laurie, 4/4, Courtney Manning, 2/8 and Eryn Crombie, 2/12. A win to
Westlake by 172 runs.

They will play CGHS in the 3rd and 4th place play-offs, meanwhile Waikato Diocesan will play NPGHS in the 5th and 6th place play-off, NPGHS had previously won this tournament for the last six years running.

Auckland Diocesan for Girls v Christchurch Girls High School 

Christchurch Girls High School 159/8 (L. Hughes 36, C. Hughes 25, A. Crosby-Mangels 23 n.o.; E. Burkin 4/33) beat Auckland Diocesan for Girls 59 (L. Hanham 4/13, H. Mauafa 2/12)

Auckland Diocesan won the toss and elected to field first in an attempt to exploit the damp conditions. Christchurch GHS batted through their 40 overs and managed to compile a good total in challenging batting conditions, with showers passing over frequently and strong gusty winds. Captain, Laura Hughes 36, Camille Hughes 25 and Annelise Crosby-Mangels 23 not out did the bulk of the scoring for Christchurch.

Auckland Diocesan for Girls were unable to get close to Christchurch’s total and were eventually bowled out for 59. For Christchurch the highlight of their bowling innings was a hat-trick taken by Lauren Hanham who ended up with figures of 4 for 13, Hana Mauafa also bowled tidily taking 2 for 12. 

Havelock North High School v Blue Mountain College

Blue Mountain College 62 (S. Rangnekar 6/3, O. Gregory 2/4) lost to Havelock North High School 63/2(S. Rangnekar 16)

Havelock North High School made short work of Blue Mountain College on Owen Delany number one. Blue Mountain College won the toss and decided to bat first and were bowled out for 62 in 27 overs. The main strike bowler for Havelock North was again Sanika Rangnekar who finished with the outstanding figures of 6 wickets for 3 runs. Olivia Gregory also finished with impressive figures of 2 for 4.

Havelock North chased the runs down with few problems, passing Blue Mountain’s score in 21.1 overs with two wickets down.  Havelock North now take their impressive form into the final against Wellington Girls College.

Final Day Play-offs

NZCT Cup Final
Wellington Girls College vs. Havelock North High School
Ground- 1

3rd v 4th Playoff
Christchurch Girls High School vs. Westlake Girls High School
Ground- 2

5th v 6th Playoff
New Plymouth Girls High School vs. Waikato Diocesan School
Ground- 3

7th v 8th Playoff
Diocesan School for Girls vs. Blue Mountain College
Ground- 4


With Thanks To

ANZ Ford
Tui Active Post HRV Specsavers CCC Powerade
Sky Pitch Radio Network TAB Gillette Accor Hotels City Fitness