Christchurch Girls’ High School 2010 NZCT Champions

The final day of the 2010 New Zealand Community Trust Secondary School Girls’ Cricket Finals saw some intriguing battles today at Owen Delany Park and Kaimanawa Reserve.

Hillcrest High School versus Christchurch Girls’ High School

Christchurch Girls’ High School 135/9 – Emma Hartland 40, Laura Hughes 38, Heidi Arndt 8/26 BEAT Hillcrest High School 120 all out – Kirsten Laurence 21, Paige Whiting 21, Camille Hughes 3-17, Hana Mauafu 2/17 by 15 runs.

Hillcrest High School won the toss and elected to field first in the 2010 final of the NZCT Girls’ Cup.

Hillcrest struggled to make an early break through with Laura Hughes and Emma Hartland combining well for a first wicket stand of 82. 

After being 82/1 Christchurch were then unable to form any partnerships of note with Heidi Arndt ripping through the Christchurch batsman with staggering figures of 8/22 from her eight overs.

The pressure of increasing the run rate towards the end of Christchurch’s innings became too great with Hana Mauafu the only other batsman to reach double figures.

Christchurch Girls’ High School bounced back fantastically well in the field. They took their first wicket with the score at eight for one and carried the momentum through the innings. With key players Heidi Arndt and Felicity Leydon-Davis back in the pavilion Christchurch Girls’ High School were right on top.

However, Hillcrest showed remarkable character under pressure and Kirsten Laurence and Paige Whiting began a comeback. The two Hillcrest girls put on 30 for the eighth wicket and then 31 for the ninth wicket between Whiting and Shani Fernando.

With the score 120/9 and only 15 needed it was going right to the wire. Brilliant fielding from Christchurch sealed victory with Fernando run-out for 11.

Christchurch Girls’ High School, winners of the 2010 NZCT Secondary School Girls’ Cricket Championships.

Epsom Girls’ Grammar School versus Havelock North High School

Epsom Girls Grammar School 104/7 – Maddie Green 27, Bhamini Rangnekar 3-15, Neesha Johnson 2-13 LOST to Havelock North High School 105/2 – Elise Yule 38*, Bridget Dick 32* by eight wickets.

In the playoff match for third and fourth place Havelock North High School won the toss and put Epsom Girls’ Grammar School in to bat.

Epsom started the encounter extremely well and looked to have the match under control at 41/0 at the first drinks break.

Immediately following the interval Epsom star Maddie Green was caught for 27. Leanne Gray looked to continue the momentum and did a good job for Epsom before being dismissed for 16.

Havelock North then managed to take control of the innings and a top bowling effort of 3-15 by Bhamini Rangnekar slowed the run rate right down and restricted Epsom to 104/7 from their 40 overs.

In reply Havelock North cruised to an eight wicket victory thanks largely to an unbeaten third wicket stand of 65 between Elise Yule, 38 and Bridget Dick, 32.

Wanganui Collegiate versus Avondale College

Wanganui Collegiate 172/6 – Hester Nesbitt 48, Mille Holden 42, Shannen Elliott 3/28, Victoria Higgs 2/24 LOST to Avondale College 173/4, Victoria Higgs 69 by six wickets.

Wanganui Collegiate batted first after winning the toss but were soon on the back foot after the dismissal of Amy McKeefry in the first over.

A solid stand of 97 between Millie Holden and Hester Nesbitt put Wanganui firmly in control of the match. 

Shannen Elliott bowled Holden for a fine 42 which turned momentum back in favour of Avondale as they picked up two more quick wickets.

Pippa Norman and Danielle Janes formed a partnership to ensure that Wanganui got through to a defendable total of 172/6.

Victoria Higgs completed an outstanding all-round game with a brilliant 69 to see her team to victory by six wickets.

St Hilda’s Collegiate School versus Wellington Girls’ College

Wellington Girls’ College 170/7 – Umaya Ranaweera 44, Neelum Patel 28*, Mandy MacDonald 3/28, Ginny Wilson 2/33 BEAT St Hilda’s Collegiate 110 all out - Caitlin Blakely 21, Hayley Lorking 4-16, Kate Southorn 3/26 by 60 runs.

Wellington Girls’ College won the toss and elected to bat and started the game well with an opening stand of 40. However, tidy bowling from St Hilda’s restricted Wellington to only 26 from the first 10 overs.

A second wicket stand of 50 and a seventh wicket stand of 44 put the game firmly in Wellington’s control as they set a defendable total of 170/7 off their 40 overs.

Mandy MacDonald had another wicket taking day for St Hilda’s taking 3/28 off her eight overs and was well supported by Ginny Wilson who finished with figures of 2/33. 

St Hilda’s attacked the Wellington opening bowling to be 26/0 after nine overs.

From there no real partnerships were formed with Wellington taking wickets at regular intervals. Hayley Lorking and Kate Southorn were the key destroyers picking up 4/16 and 3/26 respectively.

Final placings

1st – Christchurch Girls’ High School
2nd – Hillcrest High School
3rd – Havelock North High School
4th – Epsom Girls’ Grammar School
5th – Avondale College
6th – Wanganui Collegiate
7th – Wellington Girls’ College
8th – St Hilda’s Collegiate School

Heidi Arndt from Hillcrest High School was awarded player of the Tournament for 2010 and winner of the Ina Lamason Cup.

Following the tournament the following eleven players were selected as part of the 2010 NZCT Girls Tournament XI:

Julia Vito - Avondale College
Heidi Arndt - Hillcrest High School
Maddie Green - Epsom Girls’ Grammar School
Felicity Leydon-Davis - Hillcrest High School
Shannen Elliott - Avondale College
Hana Mauafu - Christchurch Girls’ High School
Emma Hartland - Christchurch Girls’ High School
Laura Hughes - Christchurch Girls’ High School
Shani Fernando - Hillcrest High School
Kate Southorn - Wellington Girls’ College
Mandy MacDonald - St Hilda’s Collegiate

The following players were selected by their coaches as their team’s most valuable player of the tournament

Laura Hughes - Christchurch Girl’s High School
Heidi Arndt - Hillcrest High School
Elise Yule - Havelock North High School
Maddie Green - Epsom Girls’ Grammar School
Victoria Higgs - Avondale College
Hester Nesbitt - Wanagnui Collegiate
Kate Southorn - Wellington Girls’ College
Caitlin Blakely - St Hilda’s Collegiate

With Thanks To

ANZ Ford
Tui Active Post HRV Specsavers CCC Powerade
Sky Pitch Radio Network TAB Gillette Accor Hotels City Fitness