The Auckland Heart and Otago Sparks Share Honours

6 December 2008

Result: AUCKLAND HEARTS won by 2 wickets

Otago Sparks 162 (Tsukigawa 73, Campbell 24, Minstry 3-18, Gruber 2-20) lost to Auckland Hearts 163 (Lynch 69, Murphy 27, Tsukigawa 2-27, Campbell 2-32)

The Otago Sparks won the toss and elected to bat in their first State League match against the Auckland Hearts.  Three wickets in the first ten overs restricted the scoring but  hard hitting Otago batsman, Sarah Tsukigawa, reached 73 to help them through to 163. In reply the Auckland Hearts reached the target in 43 overs with their top order of Michelle Lynch (69), Victoria Lind (23) and Megan Murphy (27) providing most of their runs.

7 December 2008

Result: Win to OTAGO SPARKS by 6 wickets

Auckland Hearts 177 (Lind 91, Campbell  4-34, Hopkinson 2-41) lost to Otago Sparks 178 (Martin 50, Kitchin 45, Kane 26, Bullen 2-40)

It was the Auckland Hearts who elected to bat in the second match of the weekend against the Otago Sparks.  Their first innings score of 177, that included a 91 runs from opener Victoria Lind, wasn’t enough as the Otago Sparks went on to reach the target with tens balls to spare.  Otago’s Emma Campbell was the best of the bowlers taking 4-34.  Batsmen Katey Martin scored a half century and Abigail Kitchen contributed with 45.  Auckland weren’t helped by some wayward bowling that including 23 wides.

With Thanks To

ANZ Ford
Tui Active Post HRV Specsavers CCC Powerade
Sky Pitch Radio Network TAB Gillette Accor Hotels City Fitness