State League squads for 2008/09 women’s competition announced

The start of New Zealand’s premier women’s cricket competitions is a step closer with the announcement today of State League squads for the 2008/09 season.

The State League gets under way on 6 December, with the final scheduled for 24 January 2009.  

After a successful first season last summer, the State League Twenty20 continues this year with matches taking place on the days before each round of the State League.  

The State League Twenty20 final will be played on Sunday 25 January 2009.

There’s likely to be intense interest in the domestic women’s competition, with players vying for places in the White Ferns team to compete in the ICC Women’s World Cup in March 2009 and the joint ICC World Twenty20 Championship in England in June 2009.  

Highlights of the State League squads:

State Auckland Hearts

The Hearts have a new coach this season in former White Fern Maia Lewis. The squad is similar to last season’s with youngster Rosie Cox elevated to the first team.
Squad: Ingrid Cronin-Knight, Sam Barriball, Saskia Bullen, Shanna Coetzee, Rosie Cox, Wendy Horneman, Sandee Hui, Ros Kember, Victoria Lind, Prashilla Mistry, Megan Murphy, Katie Perkins, Megan Tremaine. Coach – Maia Lewis.

State Northern Spirit

The Spirit will be boosted by the return from injury of White Fern Louise Milliken, who missed all of last season because of a knee reconstruction.
Squad: Emily Bailey, Nicola Browne, Natalie Dodd, Natalie Edwards, Janice Fraser, Holly Huddleston, Louise Milliken, Morna Nielson, Anna Peterson, Ane Swart, Anna Wilkins, Emily Wilson. Coach – Cliff Dickeson.

State Central Hinds

This season’s Hinds squad is dominated by four White Ferns - Aimee Mason, Sara McGlashan, Rachel Priest and Rachel Candy.
Squad: Kate Broadmore, Abby Burrows, Rachel Candy, Michelle Frey, Lisa Hayes, Sara McGlashan, Zara McWilliams, Aimee Mason, Rachel Priest, Kelly Rangi, Courtney Sim, Kelly Sutherland, Kelly Winkley. Coach – Kerry Strange.

State Wellington Blaze

The Blaze are boosted by the return of White Fern Sophie Devine from Canterbury, along with former White Fern Anna Dodd who returns after having a baby. The squad also gains former Northern Districts player Kerry Anne Tomlinson, now living in Wellington.
Squad: Amanda Cooper, Anna Dodd, Sarah Bradbury, Sophie Devine, Lucy Doolan, Melinda Hodgson, Charlotte Mizzi, Elizabeth Perry, Sian Ruck, Sarah Sim, Andrea Stockwell, Kerry Anne Tomlinson, Megan Wakefield. Coach – Mark Borthwick.

State Canterbury Magicians

It’s a strong looking Magicians side with six White Ferns squad members, including Maria Fahey who returns after missing last season due to illness. The team gains new players in pace bowler Lea Tahuhu and batsman Amber Boyce – an exciting  former school girl player from Blenheim.  Former Canterbury Wizard Stephen Cunis is the new coach.
Squad: Haidee Tiffen, Erin Birmingham, Amber Boyce, Janet Brehaut, Sarah Burke, Maria Fahey, Frances Mackay, Beth McNeill, Rowan Milburn, Michelle Mitchell, Krista Neilson, Amy Satterthwaite, Lea Tahuhu. Coach – Stephen Cunis.

State Otago Sparks

The Sparks should benefit from an expected full season from Suzie Bates who missed most of last season with Tall Ferns Olympic basketball preparation.  The squad includes three White Ferns squad members – Bates, Sarah Tsukigawa and Katey Martin.
Squad: Sarah Tsukigawa, Suzie Bates, Kylie Crowley, Lucy Foote, Lisa Grant, Tessa Hopkinson, Abigail Kitchin, Megan Kane, Alana Kane, Katey Martin, Jo Meyer, Tanya Morrison, Ariana Te Wake. Coach – Clare Taylor.

With Thanks To

ANZ Ford
Tui Active Post HRV Specsavers CCC Powerade
Sky Pitch Radio Network TAB Gillette Accor Hotels City Fitness