New Zealand Cricket announces National Under-19 team for internal tour in February

New Zealand Cricket has announced the national Under-19 team to undertake a tour of the North Island in February 2009.

National age group selectors Kaushik Patel (convenor), John Wright, Mark O’Neill and Lance Cairns confirmed the team at the conclusion of the National Under-19 Cricket Tournament yesterday [Sunday 11 January].  The team is:

BJ Barnett (Central Districts)
Jonathon Bassett-Graham (Auckland)
Nicholas Beard (Otago)
Harry Boam (Wellington)
Craig Cachopa (Auckland)
Matt Farrant (Canterbury)
James Fuller (Otago)
Tom Latham (Canterbury)
Andrew Mathieson (Northern Districts)
James Neesham (Auckland)
Michael Pollard (Wellington)
Dean Robinson (Central Districts)
Ili Tugaga (Wellington)
Anurag Verma (Northern Districts)
The internal tour consists of three-day matches against the Wellington A (Wellington, 3-5 February), Northern Districts A (Taupo, 8-10 February) and two one-day games against Auckland A (Auckland, 12 and 13 February).

“This short tour gives these emerging players a wonderful opportunity to test their ability against experienced senior players, many of whom are on the verge of establishing first-class careers” said coach Mark O’Neill.

“The team is well balanced, with half the team having already played for the New Zealand Under-19s and a number who impressed at the recent National Under-19 tournament.”

With Thanks To

ANZ Ford
Tui Active Post HRV Specsavers CCC Powerade
Sky Pitch Radio Network TAB Gillette Accor Hotels City Fitness