Aces announce final T20 Champions League squad

The Auckland Aces have announced their final squad of fifteen players to contest the Champions League T20 competition in South Africa starting on 9 October.

The squad is identical to the one that claimed the HRV Cup back in January but with the addition of left arm pace bowler Mitchell McClenaghan, who made such an impression at the back end of the season in the Ford Trophy and Plunket Shield.

The Aces will have nine current or ex-BLACKCAPS in their squad, something that should provide them with plenty of experience and big-match temperament as they contest two qualifying matches and attempt to make it through to the main draw.

Coach Paul Strang is confident that his side is in the right frame of mind to make it a successful trip to South Africa.

"There's a lot you need to do to get things right when you're coming out of winter to play in what are basically sudden death games, but we're confident that we've nailed most of that. The guys are in good shape and we're starting to get that real team togetherness back that was so important for us in the HRV Cup last season.

The Aces leave for South Africa on 22 September to begin preparations before their first qualifying game against the Sialkot Stalions on 9 October, and second qualifying game against Yorkshire the following day. Fixtures for the main draw start three days later on 13 October.

Gareth Hopkins (Captain)
Andre Adams
Michael Bates
Brad Cachopa
Colin de Grandhomme
Martin Guptill
Ronnie Hira
Anaru Kitchen
Mitchell McClenaghan
Azhar Mahmood
Bruce Martin
Chris Martin
Kyle Mills
Colin Munro
Lou Vincent

Champions League T20 website

*Article retrieved

With Thanks To

ANZ Ford
Tui Active Post HRV Specsavers CCC Powerade
Sky Pitch Radio Network TAB Gillette Accor Hotels City Fitness