Cricket Wellington Awards Winners

Above: Premier Men's Cricketer of the Year Iain McPeake and Senior Women's Cricketer of the Year Andrea Stockwell
with their awards at Friday night's Cricket Wellington Club Awards at the Hawkins Basin Reserve.

Michael Papps and Sophie Devine were named the 2012-13 Cricket Wellington’s Men’s and Women’s Cricketers of the Year, while Papps won the Wellington Firebirds Batsman of the Year award and Devine also won the Wellington Blaze’s Batswoman and All-rounder of the Year awards.

The annual Norwood Awards ceremony this year was postponed this week out of respect for Jesse Ryder’s health following his recent attack in Christchurch. However Cricket Wellington's separate club awards were held at the Hawkins Basin Reserve on Friday night. Winners from both awards are detailed below:

Wellington Firebirds and Wellington Blaze award winners

Cricketer of the Year: Male - Michael Papps. Female - Sophie Devine.
Batsmen of the Year: Male - Michael Papps. Female - Sophie Devine.
Bowler of the Year: Male - Mark Gillespie. Female- Michelle Bunkall.
Allrounder of the Year: Male - Luke Ronchi. Female - Sophie Devine.
Fielder of the Year: Male - Luke Ronchi. Female - Thamsyn Newton

Other awards:

Provincial A MVP: Josh Brodie
Eddie Cameron U19: Henry Walsh
Sir Walter Nash U23: Scott Kuggeleijn
Under 21 Girls: Dee Doughty
HRV Cup, Players' Choice: Jesse Ryder
Plunket Shield,Players' Choice: Mark Gillespie
Ford Trophy,Players' Choice: Michael Papps
Overall Players' Choice: Jesse Ryder

Cricket Wellington Club Awards winners

The individual award winners:

Premier Men’s Club Cricketer of the Year: Iain McPeake
Senior Women’s Club Cricketer of the Year: Andrea Stockwell
Umpire of the Year (Stanley Cowman Cup): Evan Watkin
Best and Fairest Player (Bruce Murray Medal): Iain McPeake and Chris Spring
Most runs in Premier Grade (Arthur Dick Cup): Barry Rhodes
Most wickets in Premier Grade (Ron Murray Cup): Iain McPeake
Highest score in Premier Grade (May Cup): Matt Goldsbury
Best bowling figures in Premier Grade (J Atkin Cup): Iain McPeake
Most runs in Senior Women’s Grade (Judith Sadler Cup): Andrea Stockwell
Most wickets in Senior Women’s Grade (Majorie Sweetman Cup): Amanda Cooper
Best Lower Grade Performance: Matthew Lister
Best overall performance in Premier Grade (Sam Platt Cup): Matthew Goldsbury and Mark Hewson
Best and Most Enterprising Captain: Clinton Butler
Tararua and Dempster Shield Player of the Year: Barry Rhodes
Volunteer service to club cricket (Mike Curtis Cup): Colin Owens
Best and Fairest Team: Wellington Collegians
Ground of the Year: Karori Park

Club Awards:

AJ Cook Shield - HV Aggregate: Upper Hutt United
Hutt Valley Average: Upper Hutt United
Royal Visit Cup - Wellington Aggregate: Eastern Suburbs
Norwood Cup - Wellington Average: Wellington Indian Sports Club

Grade Winners

Pearce Cup: Eastern Suburbs
Hazlett Trophy: Upper Hutt United
Ewen Chatfield Cup (One-Day): Eastern Suburbs
Premier Twenty20: Karori
Senior Women’s: Hutt District
Alan Isaac Cup: Johnsonville
Premier Reserve Section 2: North City
First Grade: Collegians Chargers
Second Grade: Wellington Indian Sports Club NZ Desi
Third Grade: Petone-Riveside Titans
Fourth Grade: Victoria University Tamils
Fifth Grade: Eastern Suburbs Aces
Sixth Grade: Easts Smoking Pineapples
Wellington 1A: Karori Bakery
Hutt Valley 1A: Upper Hutt Bestie
Wellington Twenty20 sec 1 & 2: Johnsonville Run Chargers
Wellington Twenty20 sec 3: North City
Hutt Valley Twenty20: Hutt District Legends
Women’s Twenty20: Hutt District Legends
Girls Youth: North City and Hutt District

With Thanks To

ANZ Ford
Tui Active Post HRV Specsavers CCC Powerade
Sky Pitch Radio Network TAB Gillette Accor Hotels City Fitness