NZC revamp Awards | Sir Richard Hadlee Medal launched

The annual National Bank New Zealand Cricket Awards have been revamped to introduce individual awards for each format of international cricket and the Sir Richard Hadlee Medal for the Supreme Player of the Year.

Sir Richard Hadlee is New Zealand Cricket’s greatest player and is one of the best all-rounders of all time. 

Sir Richard took 431 wickets and struck 3,124 runs in 86 Test matches.  In 115 ODIs he claimed 158 wickets and hit 1,751 runs.  The legendary all-rounder was appointed as a Member of the British Empire (MBE) in 1981 and was knighted in 1990 before being formally inducted into the ICC Cricket Hall of Fame in 2009.

Designed by Richard Adams in consultation with Sir Richard Hadlee and manufactured in Christchurch by Harre Design, the medal is carved from pounamu and combines the iconic fern along with the iconic Hadlee name.

New Zealand Cricket Chief Executive Justin Vaughan described the new award as a great recognition and took the opportunity to congratulate Sir Richard Hadlee.

“Sir Richard Hadlee is undoubtedly the finest cricket player in New Zealand's cricket history and the creation of the Sir Richard Hadlee Medal acknowledges his amazing achievements,” said Vaughan.

“He played the game in a highly competitive but sportsmanlike way, and consistently at the very highest level.

“The Sir Richard Hadlee medal is a fitting tribute to one of the true greats and it will signal a special moment in the career of the recipients.”

Sir Richard Hadlee said:  “I am humbled and honoured to be associated with the Player of the Year Award,”

“To have my cricketing career recognised in such a way is something I’m extremely grateful for.

“I wish all the cricketers who have been nominated the very best of luck.”

The full list of awards:

  • Gillette Young Player of the Year
  • Bert Sutcliffe Medal
  • Domestic Cricketer of the Year – Men’s
  • Domestic Cricketer of the Year – Women’s
  • International Women Player of the Year
  • Fans’ Choice for Outstanding Individual Achievement
  • Redpath Cup – First-Class batting
  • Winsor Cup – First-Class bowling
  • The National Bank Twenty20 International Player of the Year
  • The National Bank One Day International Player of the Year
  • The National Bank Test Player of the Year
  • Sir Richard Hadlee Medal (Player of the Year)

The Walter Hadlee Trophy (men’s ODI batting), Walter Hadlee Trophy (men’s ODI bowling). JR Reid All-rounder Award (men’s international), Phyl Blackler Cup (women’s bowling), Ruth Martin Cup (women’s batting), The National Bank Player of the Year have been retired and will have a permanent place at the New Zealand Cricket Museum in Wellington.

Speaking about the changes Vaughan said:  “The decision was made after consultation with the wider cricketing fraternity, including the families with trophies that were being retired.

“The new awards align with the way other cricket governing bodies recognise award winners and streamlines the awards to recognise achievements in each format of the game  .

“I am grateful to all who took the time to provide input and support the changes.

The 2010/11 independent selection panel was headed by former New Zealand Cricket President and selector, Don Neely along with former BLACKCAP and current SKY Television commentator, Ian Smith; and veteran Radio Sport commentator, Bryan Waddle.

The National Bank New Zealand Cricket Awards are celebrated on 10 November 2011 at the Auckland War Memorial Museum with live coverage on SKY TV.

With Thanks To

ANZ Ford
Tui Active Post HRV Specsavers CCC Powerade
Sky Pitch Radio Network TAB Gillette Accor Hotels City Fitness