Alan Isaac to be inaugurated as eighth ICC President

The ICC Annual Conference week begins tomorrow (Sunday) with the Chief Executives’ Committee (CEC) meeting at the Shangri-La Hotel in Kuala Lumpur and ends on 28 June 2012 with the inauguration of the eighth ICC President, Alan Isaac, at the Annual Conference.

Mr Isaac, a former NZC Board Chairman, will take over as ICC President from Sharad Pawar, who completes his two-year term at the end of the week. The ICC Council, at its meeting on 28 June 2012, will be asked to approve amendments to the ICC Articles which will create the post of Chairman from June 2014 with the President’s role being ambassadorial from that date onwards. The Council will also be required to confirm the appointment of David Richardson as successor to Haroon Lorgat as the ICC Chief Executive.

The ICC Associate and Affiliate Members meeting on 25 June 2012 will elect their three representatives to serve two-year terms on the ICC Board.

On the agenda of the CEC meeting are recommendations from the ICC Cricket Committee which include the reaffirmation of the universal application of the Decision Review System (DRS), minor enhancements to the 50-over format and, importantly, discussions on the protection and promotion of international cricket within a changed landscape that is showing a growing number of domestic professional T20 leagues.

The ICC Board, which will meet on 26 and 27 June, will receive various reports and recommendations emanating from Board sub-committees and the CEC. Among these will be the annual report from the Chairman of ACSU, membership issues including applications for ICC Affiliate Membership from Russia and Hungary. The Board will also continue its discussions, which have been ongoing since the last meeting among the directors and Members, on the Woolf report and further consider the strategies being developed to protect and promote all three formats of the game at international level.

NZC Chief Executive David White and NZC Board Chairman Chris Moller will attend the conference.

With Thanks To

ANZ Ford
Tui Active Post HRV Specsavers CCC Powerade
Sky Pitch Radio Network TAB Gillette Accor Hotels City Fitness