2012 Year 8 Zone Tournament

The 2012 Cricket Wellington junior representative season has been underway over the last few weeks in the form of the Year 8 Zone Tournament. Unfortunately poor weather has meant two of the four rounds so far have been cancelled. 

Over the first two completed rounds Wellington North and Lower Hutt lead the table with two wins from two. Notable performances include Gareth Severin of Lower Hut recording the highest individual score in the tournament’s history with his 114 not out against Wellington South. 

The bat has dominated over the ball in the first two rounds with Elliot Western (Wellington South), Josh Rogerson (North City) and Rachin Ravindra all also scoring heavily in the opening rounds.

With two rounds to play all interest will be on whether Wellington North can make it five tournaments in a row or if Lower Hutt can break their dominance.
About the Year 8 Zone Tournament

The Year 8 Zone Tournament is played over 5 consecutive Sundays across 3 venues; Fraser Park, Ian Galloway Park and Kilbirnie Park. Games are 40 over's a side and begin at 11am.

The 6 zone sides are Lower Hutt, Upper Hutt, Wellington South, Wellington West, Wellington North and North City

Players identified through these zone games will be selected into a development team coached by Nick Wanden who will attend the Year 9 Zone tournament in January 2013.

The Year 8 Zone Tournament in its current format has existed since the 2006 season. A number of players who have participated in these tournaments have gone on to be selected in Wellington age-group sides. Only two zones have ever won the competition, Lower Hutt in 2006 and 2007, while Wellington North has won the competition the last four years 2008-2011.

With Thanks To

ANZ Ford
Tui Active Post HRV Specsavers CCC Powerade
Sky Pitch Radio Network TAB Gillette Accor Hotels City Fitness