Kane Williamson has been suspended from bowling in international cricket because of an illegal action.
Independent analysis of the New Zealand all-rounder’s action, conducted earlier this month at Cardiff Metropolitan University, has concluded his elbow extension, when bowling, exceeds the 15 degrees of tolerance permitted under ICC regulations.
Williamson has therefore been suspended from bowling in international cricket until such time he has, 1) submitted to fresh independent analysis, and 2) satisfied assessors of the legality of his action.
Reported by the umpires and match referee during the second Test between the West Indies and New Zealand at Port of Spain in June, the 23-year-old last bowled for the BLACKCAPS in the second T20I at Dominica on July 6.
He now intends to focus on remedial work and, when practical, apply to be re-tested by biomechanical specialists.
“I note the findings of Dr Craig Ranson and his team at Cardiff Met and will concentrate on changing whatever’s necessary to return to the bowling crease,” Williamson said today.
“Clearly, the onus is on me to satisfy assessors as to the legality of my action, and I’m aware I have some hard work in front of me to achieve that goal.
“It’s never nice, going through this sort of process but it will be worth it if I can manage to bowl again at international level.”
BLACKCAPS’ coach Mike Hesson was hopeful Williamson would play a further role at the bowling crease.
“Kane’s disappointed, clearly – anyone in his situation would feel the same way,” said Hesson.
“He now has a challenge on his hands if he’s to bowl again at the top level, but we’re very hopeful he can manage it.”