NZCT Junior Boys’ Finals day three

  Final pool games set up intriguing final day


The results from the third round of the New Zealand Community Trust Junior Boys’ Finals have seen no team finish round robin stages unbeaten.


Otago Boys’ High School and Hutt International Boys’ School went into the penultimate day on top of their pools, but both suffered losses to leave Hutt and Christchurch Boys’ High School level on points in pool A and Otago Boys, St Paul’s Collegiate and St Kentigern College in a three way tie for first in Pool B.


Hutt International went through to the trophy game having beaten Christchurch Boys in the round robin stages, while Otago Boys went through from pool B thanks to a superior net run-rate.


Chris Swanson from St Paul’s Collegiate had the standout individual performance of the day, as he posted the top score for the tournament to date with an unbeaten 97.



Hastings Boys’ High School v St Kentigern College


From the start of the St Kentigern innings Hastings were on top of their rivals and had their Auckland opposition reeling at 60 for six.


St Kentigern recovered somewhat though and managed to get through to 122 from their 40 overs, due mainly to a fine knock of 20 by their left arm quick Raymond Poole.


In reply, the Hastings boys looked to have control of the game when they required only 16 runs from the last 26 deliveries with five wickets in hand.


When Jarrod McLeod was finally dismissed for 76 they only required eight runs to win, but the St Kentigern bowlers, led by Raymond Poole, put the squeeze on the Hastings’ tail and managed to take the final Hastings’ wicket with three runs still required for victory.


St. Kentigern College 122 all out (J Mcleod 2/24, M Stirling 2/19) BEAT Hastings Boys’ High School 120 all out (J Mcleod 76, R Toole 3/17)


Result: St Kentigern College won by two runs



Otago Boys’ High School v St Paul’s Collegiate


Batting first, St Paul’s Collegiate posted the highest total of the tournament to date, amassing 209 for five after their 40 overs.


The substantial score was mainly due to an outstanding knock of 97 not out from Chris Swanson, who unfortunately ran out of overs to bring up his century.  He was ably supported by Dillon Kelliher (75), with the two sharing a 109 run partnership for the second wicket.


In reply, Otago were slow out of the blocks due to some tight bowling by the St Pauls openers and were never allowed to mount a serious threat on the total.


Blake Buttar Scurr continued his fine form he has shown all week, with 31 off 86 balls. He was ably supported by Taine Bayly who chipped in with 29.


St. Pauls Collegiate 209/5 (C Swanson 97*, D Kelliher 75) BEAT Otago Boys’ High 151/4 (B Buttar Scurr 31, T Bayly 29)


Result: St Paul’s Collegiate won by 58 runs



Hutt International Boys’ School v St Peter’s School          


Some tight bowling from the St. Peter’s bowlers had Hutt International under pressure early on and had their opposition at 16 for three.


Vishal Nomula (29) and Caleb Tashkoff (24) tried to resurrect the innings, but St Peters were able to pick up regular wickets and eventually dismissed Hutt for 128.


For St Peter’s School Neil Achary was particularly successful, picking up four wickets for nine runs, while Samuel Frengley picked up figures of three for 13 and Sukraj Mahal three for 22.


St Peter’s School were under pressure early on in their run chase, losing their first wicket with only 11 runs on the board.  However they were able to put together a number of partnerships and brought up the required runs for victory in the 36th over. It had been largely thanks to 38 from Brandon Weal and 31 from Neil Achary.


The pick of the Hutt International bowlers was Oliver Smythe who nabbed two wickets for 20 runs.


Hutt International Boys’ 128 all out (V Nomula 29, N Achary 4/9) LOST to St Peter’s School 130/5 (B Weal 38, N Achary 31)              


Result: St Peter’s School won by five wicket



Christchurch Boys’ High School v New Plymouth Boys’ High School


Christchurch Boys’ High Schools innings got off to a less than convincingstart, losing three wickets for two runs. Luckily for Christchurch Boys, Matthew Hay was able to keep the score ticking along, as he shared some vital partnerships on his way to 79.


Callum Hill also pitched in with a valuable 27. 


The New Plymouth Boys’ bowlers shared the wickets, with Taylor Williams being the best of them with figures of three for 29.


In response New Plymouth Boys’ lost regular wickets throughout their innings and had difficulty keeping up with the required run-rate. New Plymouth eventually finished their 40 overs at 148 for seven. Kaylum Boshier was the anchor of the New Plymouth Boys’ innings with an unbeaten 47. 


Meanwhile Jack Hyde was a standout with the ball, taking three for 13, while Matthew Hay backed up his fine batting display with bowling figures of two for 28.


Christchurch Boys’ High 200/9 (M Hay 79, T Williams 3/29) BEAT New Plymouth Boys’ High 148/7 (K Boshier 47*, Jack Hyde 3/13)


Result: Christchurch Boys’ High School won by 52 runs



Final points table:


Pool A:


Hutt International Boys’ High 4

Christchurch Boys’ High School 4

New Plymouth Boys’ High School 2

St Peter’s School 0


Pool B:


Otago Boys’ High School 4

St Paul’s Collegiate 4

St Kentigern College 4

Hastings Boys’ High School 0


Final day matches


Playoff for 1st and 2nd: Hutt International Boys’ School v Otago Boys’ High School

Playoff for 3rd and 4th: Christchurch Boys’ High School v St Paul’s Collegiate

Playoff for 5th and 6th: New Plymouth Boys’ High School v St Kentigern College

Playoff for 7th and 8th: St Peter’s School v Hastings Boys’ High School


With Thanks To

ANZ Ford
Tui Super Smash CCC Powerade Caltex Caltex
Sky Pitch Radio Sport TAB Gillette Accor Hotels Les Mills