Hawke Cup

The Hawke Cup is the major competition for New Zealand's District Associations - to win the cup, challengers must beat the holders on their home ground.

Hawke Cup format

There are four Hawke Cup regional zones:

  • Zone one: Hamilton, Northland, Counties-Manukau, Bay of Plenty, Poverty Bay and Waikato Valley
  • Zone two: Hawke’s Bay, Wairarapa, Wanganui, Horowhenua Kapiti, Manawatu and Taranaki
  • Zone three: Canterbury Country, Marlborough, Nelson, Buller and West Coast
  • Zone four: Otago Country, North Otago, Southland, South Canterbury and Mid Canterbury

A full round robin tournament is played within each zone, with games played over three days. Each zone's winner gets a Hawke Cup Challenge as part of the challenge series against the current holders on a rotational basis. If the current Hawke Cup holders finish top of their zone then the team finishing in second place qualifies for the challenge series.

The team with the Hawke Cup at the end of the challenge series holds it for the winter. To win the Hawke Cup a challenger must beat the holder outright or win on the first innings on the holder's home ground.

Hawke Cup challenge dates

First Challenge – Zone 2 (CD) 30 and 31 January and 1 February 2015
Second Challenge – Zone 1 (ND) 13, 14 and 15 February 2015
Third Challenge – Zone 3 (CANT) 27 and 28 February  and 1 March 2015
Fourth Challenge – Zone 4 (Otago) 13, 14 and 15 March 2015

Hawke Cup playing conditions

Hawke Cup playing conditions - download

Hawke Cup schedule

Hawke Cup history

Hawke Cup History and Holders (1910-2014) - Download

District Association contact information

For more information about the Hawke Cup tournament in your region, getting in touch with your district association.

With Thanks To

ANZ Ford
Tui Active Post Georgie Pie Specsavers CCC Powerade
Sky Pitch Radio Sport TAB Gillette Accor Hotels Les Mills