Men's Provincial A Tournament

The men's National Provincial A Tournament is a big part in the cricket calendars of both New Zealand Cricket and the Major Associations. 

The tournament serves a number of playing and development purposes. For players that have outgrown age group cricket, this tournament provides a stepping stone to becoming a First Class cricketer. The 'A' tournament is also a good opportunity for some current and past First Class players to keep playing at a high standard throughout the summer. The tournament is therefore of high quality with a good blend of experience and youth in each team, and it is a prized title for the Major Associations.

The 2016/17 Provincial A Tournament will be held at NZC’s High Performance Centre at Lincoln University from 2 – 10 January 2017. This year’s tournament will be contested by all six Major Associations, as well as the New Zealand Under 18 team, in preparation for the Under 19 World Cup, which is to be held in New Zealand in January 2018. It will be a straight round-robin style tournament, the team with the most points at the end of the week will be declared the winner. Nearest neighbour matches held outside the Lincoln tournament do not count towards the tournament.


2016/17 Tournament Draw


2015/16 Tournament Playing Conditions

(the 2016/17 Playing Conditions will be available in September)


2015/16 Nearest Neighbour Playing Conditions

(the 2016/17 Playing Conditions will be available in September)


Previous Winners

2015/16  Canterbury
2014/15  Auckland
2013/14  Canterbury
2012/13  Wellington
2011/12  Auckland
2010/11  Central Districts (U23) 
2009/10  No Tournament 
2008/09  Auckland




With Thanks To

ANZ Ford
Tui Super Smash CCC Powerade Caltex 2 Degrees GJ Gardner BLK
Sky Pitch Radio Sport TAB Gillette Accor Hotels Les Mills