National Club Championships

The NZCT National Club Championships is run by Cornwall Cricket Club every year, with the champions of each Major Association compete in a one day cricket round robin format, ending with a 1st v 2nd, 3rd v 4th and 5th v 6th finals match-up.

2015 NZCT National Club Championships 

Click Here for NZCT 2015 Match Reports

2014 NZCT National Club Championships

The 2014 NZCT National Club Championships will be held in April 2015 at Cornwall Park.

2013 NZCT National Club Championships

The 2013 NZCT National Club Championships involved Suburbs New Lynn representing Auckland, East Shirley representing Canterbury, Greytown representing Central Districts, Pukekohe-Metro representing Northern Districts, Albion representing Otago and Eastern Suburbs representing Wellington. East Shirley finished champions by defeating Eastern Suburbs by two wickets in the 1st v 2nd playoff.

History of the National Club Championships

The national club championship was conceived in the 1970s, with Auckland's Cornwall Cricket Club and Canterbury's High School Old Boys playing the inaugural final at Cornwall Park in 1976, with Cornwall emerged the victors. In those days the competition comprised 40 eight ball overs, and included a requirement for 15 overs of spin to be bowled.

The teams that day comprised some great names of NZ Cricket including Richard, Dale and Barry Hadlee, Cran Bull, Wayne Burtt, and Alan Hounsell for HSOB and Rodney Redmond, John Kasper, Graham Vivian, Arch Taylor and Dave Anderson for Cornwall, all of whom were current or former, first class or NZ reps.

The tournament ceased in 1978 and was resurrected in 1994/95. The format was based on a three day tournament with two groups of three playing two matches each with the top two teams playing in the final. Support from New Zealand Cricket, Major Associations and clubs has allowed the event to evolve into a full round robin tournament played over six days with each of the six participants playing each other in order to determine the finalists.

Green Island from Otago and Victoria University from Wellington have had the most success at the tournament with Green Island winning five titles and University winning three titles. Many NZ reps have featured in the tournament over the years including Gary Stead, Lorne Howell, Matt Horne, Heath Davis, Alex Tait, Brooke Walker, Kerry Walmsley, Geoff Allott, James and Hamish Marshall, Matthew Bell, Jesse Ryder, Michael Papps, James Franklin, Rob Nicol, Nathan McCullum, Andy Mckay, Ian Butler, and most recently Andrew Ellis, Tarun Nethula, Todd Astle, Colin de Grandhomme, Colin Munro, and Trent Boult.

Previous Winners

1994-95   Grafton (Auckland)
1995-96   Victoria University (Wellington)
1996-97   Victoria University (Wellington)
1997-98   Victoria University (Wellington)
1998-99   Green Island (Otago)
1999-00   Green Island (Otago) / Wanderers (CD)
2000-01   Stokes Valley (Wellington)
2001-02   Green Island (Otago) / East Shirley (Canterbury)
2002-03   Napier Tech Old Boys (Central Districts)
2003-04   Otumoetai Cadeys (Northern Districts)
2004-05   Green Island (Otago)
2005-06   Green Island (Otago)
2006-07   Howick Pakuranga (Auckland)
2007-08   Cornwall (Auckland)
2008-09   Lancaster Park Woolston (Canterbury)
2009-10   Karori (Wellington)
2010-11   East Shirley (Canterbury)  
2011-12   Takapuna (Auckland)
2012-13   Old Boys Collegian (Canterbury)
2013-14   East Shirley (Canterbury)

With Thanks To

ANZ Ford
Tui Active Post Georgie Pie Specsavers CCC Powerade
Sky Pitch Radio Sport TAB Gillette Accor Hotels Les Mills