Hawke Cup

The Hawke Cup is the major competition for New Zealand's District Associations. To win the Hawke Cup, challengers must beat the holders on their home ground.

Hawke Cup format

There are four Hawke Cup regional zones:

  • Zone one: Hamilton, Northland, Counties-Manukau, Bay of Plenty, Poverty Bay and Waikato Valley
  • Zone two: Hawke’s Bay, Wairarapa, Wanganui, Horowhenua Kapiti, Manawatu and Taranaki
  • Zone three: Canterbury Country, Marlborough, Nelson, Buller
  • Zone four: Otago Country, North Otago, Southland, South Canterbury and Mid Canterbury

A full round robin tournament is played within each zone, with games played over three days. Each zone's winner gets a Hawke Cup Challenge as part of the challenge series against the current holders on a rotational basis. If the current Hawke Cup holders finish top of their zone then the team finishing in second place qualifies for the challenge series.

The team with the Hawke Cup at the end of the challenge series holds it for the winter. To win the Hawke Cup a challenger must beat the holder outright or win on the first innings on the holder's home ground.

Hawke Cup 2015/16 challenge dates

Zone 3 challenge  January 29-31  

Zone 4 challenge  February 12-14

Zone 2 challenge  February 26-18

Zone 1 challenge  March 11-13


Hawke Cup playing conditions

2015/16 season playing conditions available 1 October 2015

Hawke Cup history

Hawke Cup History and Holders (1910-2014) - Download

District Association contact information

For more information about the Hawke Cup tournament in your region, getting in touch with your District Association.

With Thanks To

ANZ Ford
Tui Active Post Georgie Pie Specsavers CCC Powerade
Sky Pitch Radio Sport TAB Gillette Accor Hotels Les Mills