National Club Championships

The NZCT National Club Championships is run by Cornwall Cricket Club every year, with the champions of each Major Association compete in a one day cricket round robin format, ending with a 1st v 2nd, 3rd v 4th and 5th v 6th finals match-up.

2016 dates not yet confirmed.

2015 NZCT National Club Championships

History of the National Club Championship

The National Club Championship was conceived in the 1970s. Auckland's Cornwall Cricket Club and Canterbury's High School Old Boys played the inaugural final at Cornwall Park in 1976: Cornwall emerged the victors. In those days, the competition comprised 40 eight-ball overs, and included a requirement for 15 overs of spin to be bowled.

The teams that day comprised some great names of New Zealand Cricket, including Richard, Dayle and Barry Hadlee, Cran Bull, Wayne Burtt, and Alan Hounsell for HSOB and Rodney Redmond, John Kasper, Graham Vivian, Arch Taylor and Dave Anderson for Cornwall; all of whom were current or former first-class or New Zealand reps.

The tournament ceased in 1978, but was resurrected in 1994/95. The format was based on a three-day tournament, with two groups of three playing two matches each; the top two teams playing in the final. Support from New Zealand Cricket, Major Associations and clubs has allowed the event to evolve into a full round robin tournament played over six days, with each of the six participants playing each other in order to determine the finalists.

Green Island from Otago and Victoria University from Wellington have had the most success at the tournament with Green Island winning five titles and University winning three titles.

Many BLACKCAPS have featured in the tournament over the years, including Gary Stead, Lorne Howell, Matt Horne, Heath Davis, Alex Tait, Brooke Walker, Kerry Walmsley, Geoff Allott, James and Hamish Marshall, Matthew Bell, Jesse Ryder, Michael Papps, James Franklin, Rob Nicol, Nathan McCullum, Andy Mckay, Ian Butler, Andrew Ellis, Tarun Nethula, Todd Astle, Colin de Grandhomme, Colin Munro and Trent Boult.

Previous Winners

2014/15   Cornwall (Auckland)
2013/14   East Christchurch - Shirley (Canterbury)
2012/13   Old Boys Collegians (Canterbury)
2011/12   Takapuna (Auckland)
2010/11   East Shirley (Canterbury)
2009/10   Karori (Wellington)
2008/09   Lancaster Park Woolston (Canterbury)
2007/08   Cornwall (Auckland)
2006/07   Howick Pakuranga (Auckland)
2005/06   Green Island (Otago)
2004/05   Green Island (Otago)
2003/04   Otumoetai Cadets (Northern Districts)
2002/03   Napier Tech Old Boys (Central Districts)  
2001/02   Green Island (Otago) / East Chch - Shirley (Canterbury)
2000/01   Stokes Valley (Wellington)
1999/00   Green Island (Otago) / Wanderers (Central Districts)
1998/99   Green Island (Otago)
1997/98   Victoria University (Wellington)
1996/97   Victoria University (Wellington)
1995/96   Victoria University (Wellington)
1994/95   Grafton (Auckland)



With Thanks To

ANZ Ford
Tui Active Post Georgie Pie Specsavers CCC Powerade Caltex
Sky Pitch Radio Sport TAB Gillette Accor Hotels Les Mills